Forum/Schutzhund Newbie Advice. - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-09-2014, 07:07 PM Thread Starter

Forum/Schutzhund Newbie Advice.

Hello, I'm a newbie here. I'm thinking of getting into Schutzund, but let me tell u about myself and why i would like too. i'll be short as possible.

I've loved GSD's my whole life, i've always loved their striking looks and their intelligence, I had a mutt GSD when i was maybe 10-12 yrs old, unfortunately he was hit by a car at only a year old, he was "my" first dog, since then i have always wanted my own, but my parents didn't want any more pets, my mom always said, "you can get as many pets as u want when u move out". About 9yrs ago i moved out and 20+yrs since that last dog, I decided it was time for my own GSD. After extensive searching i stumbled upon a Ramon Von Kottersbusch son, at the time i had little knowledge or significance of his pedigree, all i knew was that he came from a good pedigree from the little research i did. He was sold to me as a pink papered companion dog, he had one undecended testicle therefore the breeder was selling him for short money. He honestly was the most incredible dog one could have, Loyal, smart, good looking, and the most incredible laid back temperament, he was truly my best friend. Long story short, he recently passed away at 9yrs from Osteosarcoma, I was obviously devastated of his diagnosis and his passing, he will never be forgotten or replaced.
So recently i've been looking around for a new GSD, I really love the showline pedigree from my last experience with My Ramon son. As i look around online i've been getting more interested in the working aspect of the breed, and may like to get involved.
I have zero experience in the world of Schutzhund so i'm seeking advice on what my next step should be. I have a 40hr a week job and weekends free, sometimes overtime, but only emergency OT, I'm single live alone, no spouse, or kids.

My questions: