Pet dogs in Shutzhund/IPO? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 46 (permalink) Old 09-26-2014, 09:28 AM Thread Starter

Pet dogs in Shutzhund/IPO?

I have been researching dog sports to indulge in after my 9 month old GSD earns her CGC. This is my first time having a GSD and taking a dog any further than intermediate obedience for good manners as a pet.

I think Shutzhund/IPO is an amazing sport but I'm hoping for some advice on of it would work for myself and Faun.

I work full-time as a vet tech and often have to stay overtime for emergency cases. Our obedience trainer holds beginning class four days a week. I've not had an issue missing class so far but if I have to, I know I can jump into class on another day.

I understand IPO takes time and dedication, is it feasible to work a flexible training regiment? I have heard puppies are raised a certain way for the sport, is Faun to old to start when she's 12 months?

Is IPO training and club membership usually expensive? What about trials? I paid $150 for beginning obedience and intermediate/advanced are $80. I expect higher cost but can't seem to find a ballpark figure anywhere. I don't want to start and waste anyone's time if continued involvement is not in my budget.

Lastly, Faun is a pet dog. I rescued her from a farm litter. I could tell her parents aren't show lines by their bone structure but I don't have any other information. Is it a good idea to have her temper evaluated before starting in a club? Or is working towards a BH title the same as working towards the proper temperament for IPO? I'm not interested in going into this with any expectation in particular. I would be happy with just getting out with her and teaching her what GSDs were bred to do.

Any suggestions on clubs and training in Northern California would be greatly appreciated.

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

♥ Faun GSD 12-22-13
♥ Daisy Rat Terrier/Beagle Mix 3/15/02
Sponsored Links
Advertisement