Question about the BH - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-23-2013, 09:27 PM Thread Starter
Crowned Member

Question about the BH

So this is my first time posting in THIS section. Dax and I will be starting a basic obedience class this weekend. The trainer teaching the class comes recommended from my mentor and several other people. He has Belgian tervurens and a B. sheepdog. Two have CD and CDX titles. The BH is the companion dog test correct?

I ask because to my knowledge, CGC and AKC obedience are basically what's needed for the BH. Is this true? If so, this trainer is willing to help me work with Dax and I to take the first steps to BH when he's old enough. Either way, he's going to work with us in class to get competition obedience started.

Can anyone go into simple details about training for the BH for me? I say simple because my focus lately has been one extreme to the other. Working on it. If you have great video examples, feel free to share those as well! Thanks!

Shasta GSD 5/5/10 CGC, ITD, TC
"Dax" Thor z vom Weberhaus BCAT CAX2 CGCA ETD HCT NCO-1 PKD-T RATI RATN RA TC TKA 3/18/2013
"Hades" Guilty vom Blutfeuer 10/26/2018
Zena GSD 6/1/03-2/16/2016
Riley GSD/BC 1/10/05-2/1/2013
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-24-2013, 08:09 AM

Some of the differences between AKC obedience and saying doing the BH is you may only use a single word command. AKC you are allowed to use the dog's name in conjunction with the command plus a stay command for static exercises. The distances are much greater for a BH as opposed to a working in an AKC 40ftx50ft ring. CGC will help for the traffic portion but you will need to train for a bicycle rider, a jogger, your dog working in a very tight group of people and some sort of identity check( tattoo or microchip).

These are all the things I can think of this morning with less than a 1/2 cup of coffee so far.

Keith Jenkins