Experiences? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2013, 10:11 PM Thread Starter
Master Member

Experiences?

I'm relatively new to sport, about 6 months in, and have the opportunity to take part in a working seminar next week.

I'm a little unsure if I should take a working spot or if I should just observe. Having never taken part in anything like this, how do they work?

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

Courtney M.
SG1
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, BH 07/01/2013
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2013, 10:16 PM
Crowned Member

I almost always observe at the least and depending on who the seminar is with, I will sign up for a working spot. I have always learned so much from two or three day seminars and noticed progress in my dog from the consistent training methods implemented over the course of those days.

Feuergarten German Shepherds

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2013, 10:28 PM
Administrator & LOTR Addict

Does your club recommend you sign up for a working spot or just observe? I am not a good spectator so I tend to work my dogs though I have attended very few seminars. IF you decide to work your dog I would watch a few dogs being worked first so if you are not comfortable with what you are seeing you can decide to just watch instead. Don't be afraid to say no, if you don't like something that is being done nor allow peer pressure to force you to work your dog.

Lisa Clark

SG1 Deja IPO3 AWD1 KKL1 B/HOT, SG Elena IPO1 KKL CGC B/HOT, LB (the ugly little sable) IPO2 KKL B/HOT, Jarka (up and coming) BHOT, and gone but not forgotten,
Vala SchH3 AWD1 FH2 CGC B/HOT, Donovan IPO1 TR2 AD, Nike SchH1 OB1 TR3 AD CGC HOT, Treue SchH3 CD CGC HOT

Sponsored Links
Advertisement