Frustrating training day.. - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-19-2013, 06:09 PM Thread Starter
Elite Member

Unhappy Frustrating training day..

Ever have just such a bad training day, where NOTHING goes right... that you start to actually think that giving up isn't that bad after all? Especially when it seems that you have *everything* working against you....? This is just gonna be a long rant, but I just need to let it out, step back, and evaluate everything, the positives, and the negatives, and just re-evaluate. *sigh*

So lemme sum up today: We go out into the field today to do obedience, and it sucks, because im a novice handler, and there is so much thinking that goes into it schH on my part......anyways. Berlin was just was so BLAH. No ball drive, no food drive, nothing, which is *so* frustrating bc he has it at HOME, a ton of it...just not in more distracting places... But I just felt like I made a fool outta myself. Like people already have this crappy working stigma attached to showlines, and here I am, proving them RIGHT. Ugh...and if his ball drive needs to be intensified, I just need to learn HOW. It sucks bc everyone else is way more advanced than us, so I dont get much help with the obedience...... I dont know how to engage with my dog and get his attention and make him wanna work for me, I guess. I feel like wtf have i been doing for 10 months? Nothing? And then...after that embarrassment...I bring him out to do bite work, and hes acting FEARFUL on the field. WTF?! Like he is always *so* confident, ive never seen him like...really hesitate. But he did. He was very unsure today..... I dunno why...So then, when he bites the tug, you let them 'carry', okay so I would, and weve had no problems before...but today, as soon as he'd get the tug, he'd try to BOOK IT off the field. So, he was practically pulling me, IDK what was up with him. I really dont. And then lets not forget im TERRIBLE at being a solid