Some IPO questions - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-26-2013, 05:52 PM Thread Starter
Knighted Member

Question Some IPO questions

Bear with me here... I'm a newbie.

I am interested in IPO BUT I'm about to get started in herding... I cannot do both at the same time because of the sheer cost of both(out here herding training is $40 a lesson and that's group classes, private training is more) plus the time commitment, I'm already losing my weekends to herding. I blame my herding trainer, she said I should get my pup involved in Schutz/IPO too.

So questions...

I know most people start IPO training early, if I train in herding and get some titles then stop to try IPO will it be too late if he's over 1-2 years old?

He is NOT a full WL dog, he is a SL/WL cross and I've seen several people here say how difficult a time they have with these dogs in IPO. What type of drive do they need to do this? My dog has a pretty decent prey drive(though not so high that I worry about him killing my cats, he did try to get one of my rabbits though). He loves tug and goes nuts for the flirt pole but other then Those two things his toy drive is pretty low. His pedigree if you're curious, Zephyr's flying Ollie vom Grunenfeld

Is it possible to do an evaluation at a club without joining or starting training or does that vary from place to place?

Anything else you might want to add?

I don't know if this matters at all but I'll just post my video of his herding instinct test if you want to see him in action. He really seemed to love being in with the sheep(that video did not show the whole test only his first two times in with them), never seen him so focused and right now I'd rather do something he really enjoys then what I want. But anyways, thank you for any input you might have!

Ollie vom Grunenfeld HIC CGC
Anastasia(Mishka) vom Feuergarten HIC
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-26-2013, 06:03 PM