Our first actual Schutzhund training :) - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-10-2012, 08:54 PM Thread Starter
Master Member

Our first actual Schutzhund training :)

Stark (Mako vom Haus Rentz - German Shepherd Dog) and I went down to Charlotte, NC (about a 3 hour drive) for our first official club meeting. We learned how to start training in tracking, which today is our second day doing it alone and he seems to be doing well!

I am completely new to this world, so I don't come with a lot of knowledge. The only thing I do know how to do is the Obedience portion! And in the two weeks I've been working with him, that's probably our best asset He's learning to perfect his long down, his heel work is taking off in leaps and bounds, eventually we'll start work on sit, down, stand in motion. I need to get video of his heel work I was hoping for him to be showy and I think he just may be. I've also ordered Michael Ellis' "Focused Heeling" and I'll hopefully be getting it in the mail any day now!

So when we did the obedience part at the club on Saturday, I thought he did fairly well I'm learning what is expected for competition and hopefully I'll be able to work him correctly!

Lastly was protection. He's only done bite work a handful of times. I was told he was much more confident today so I figured I'd post the video that we took and see what you guys thought of him... he's 15 months old, I'd say this is probably his 3rd time really doing bite work. (of course, during the two weeks I've had him I've played and worked on increasing his toy drive, worked on his recall back to me when he has a toy (which he use to be horrible at!), and really worked on tugging with him!)

Anyway, here are a couple videos!

MVI 7911 - YouTube

MVI 7917 - YouTube