Help! Advice Needed - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-08-2012, 12:46 AM Thread Starter

Help! Advice Needed

I started protection training for around 4 months but hasn't seen much improvement. This is my first time doing protection training. My dog is around 2 years old. The dog has a pretty good drive. He likes to play with a ball. He passed the obedience test. However he has some nerve issues. When he was still a puppy he was quite afraid of strangers in new environments. However He is not afraid of strangers when he is inside the house. he actually barks quite aggressively. As we train in protection his confidence builds up. Now he is not afraid of biting the sleeve even though the helper is a stranger. The problem is that the dog bites the sleeve firmly but releases the bite and backs off to when he is applied some pressure such a tapping him with a schutzhund stick.

My trainer tries to reduce avoidance in the dog by doing defense training which is similar to this website: Schutzhund Village

"In the next step in my program I tie the dog to a tree along the trail (if that's where we are doing this work) and the handler leaves the sight of the dog. Again, the helper makes some noise, to alert the dog, then he shows himself. After a short approach, if the dog shows us the desired behavior, the helper runs out of sight."

He said that the dog might not improve due to his temperament and it is up to me whether to continue doing protection or choose another sport. Right now it is not possible for me to get a new dog. Should I continue protection training? I am afraid that if I force the dog, his personality will be permanently negatively affected. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-08-2012, 01:50 AM
The Administrator from the Great White North, eh?