tips to stop jumping? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-04-2012, 06:11 PM Thread Starter

tips to stop jumping?

I've asked my trainer for some help also, but meantime I'd like to get some other feedback or see if anyone has any ideas on how to deal with this.

My GSD pup likes to jump a lot whenever we do any bite work. At first she didnt so much, but now she has started to do it a lot more. She just started working in the blind, and will run directly up to the helper and try to jump on her to get the pillow. Sometimes she'll just bunny hop and bark even if I hold her by the harness. She'll try and buck up if she cant jump. Sometimes she does well, but its not as often.

I've tried having someone help me at home, but none of my friends are very good with it and are not sure what to do, and being an amateur myself I'm not sure what to tell them. I tried having a friend hold the pillow above his head while we tried to get her to bark without jumping, but he ended up just handing it to her more often than not - which I cant blame him for, he's got no clue what he's supposed to do and I've tried explaining it, but I'm no expert either.

But anyway, I tried having the other person turn away whenever she jumps, but then she'd just get discouraged with barking (since barking was already something she needed coaxing to do in the beginning, I dont want to do anything that would hurt that or dampen her spirits) and stop and stare at the pillow. Also tried moving farther away every time she jumped, but that seemed to make her want to jump more. I also tried standing with her between my legs, but she still bucked. She's always been a jumper, and we've always tried to get her to stop. Could also be because she's only 7 months but I dont want to continue the behavior.

We also train her outside not to jump, and she isnt allowed to for anything but the pup is very stubborn. Any advise or words of wisdom? Thanks!
Sponsored Links