Trialing for IPO1 for the first time in 6 weeks - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-30-2012, 10:25 AM Thread Starter
Elite Member

Trialing for IPO1 for the first time in 6 weeks

Hey everyone,

So that's it, we are trialing for IPO1 in 6 weeks in New York...

Since its my first time, and the trial is not in our club but rather another club is hosting it, I would love some advice.
  1. What do you focus on most in OB when you practice at their field? I plan to do a few send-aways at the field, as well as dumbbell over the jump a few times, but other than that I think it'll be pretty standard?
  2. How do you change your tracking if you do in preparation for a trial?
  3. Should I spend some time working with the club helper beforehand if they let me?
  4. Anything I should do for the club as a courtesy? What would you as club presidents (or as club members) would appreciate outsiders doing?
  5. Any other advice for building up to the trial?

Thanks!

Last edited by ayoitzrimz; 08-30-2012 at 10:35 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-30-2012, 10:49 AM
Crowned Member

Where are you trialing?

I've only trialed for one IPO1 title before and it was at my club field, so I can't help with much preparation advice when it comes to an outside trial. For my dog, I made sure that I did the retrieves over the jump/wall and a send out. I did some light protection work the day before to work on our outs.
I had my own surprise in tracking that the field had been mowed two days prior, so it was very short. But I had made sure that I had practiced on a bunch of different types of fields before trial day, so it wasn't too big of a problem.
I never expected anything from outside competitors at our trials. We just like to all have fun and enjoy a nice trial day without any drama or attitudes. I really dislike any displays of poor sportsmanship from anyone.