Recruiting new helpers, how to? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-25-2012, 08:51 AM Thread Starter
Elite Member

Recruiting new helpers, how to?

So after 18 years in clubs there is one thing that never changes, the problem of finding helpers. My husband began doing helper work in the early 80's and has been active for all but a couple years (when our daughter was born and we started our business). He has been training director at 3 clubs over years and I have been an officer of some capacity, currently club president. Being a helper can be a pretty thankless task, depending on the club. And keeping helpers can be difficult to say the least. My husband has trained so many helpers over the years and most of them end up moving on and starting their own club or start training professionally at a given point. But this is just a fact of life and no one is trying to be malicious, it just is. Of course as TD and president, the task of finding and training helpers usually falls to us. The club members don't really pick up on the fact that we spend time outside of club practices working with the new guys, and whose dogs do they think get used in teaching?
Right now, the 2 main guys we've been working with for the past 3 years are flaking out. One has started his own Cross Fit gym and can only come to one practice a week now (sometimes not even that) and the other guy just became a father and is having to curb his social life (understandable), plus he hurt his shoulder and is having to lay out for at least a month, grrrr. This always seems to happen just when they get to the point that they can really catch a dog and can read what needs to be done to further training.
So here we sit with at least 3 members ready to trial a dog this fall and can't get regular work done, sigh. I'm not mad at the helpers by any means, I know that for them this is not their career and that life takes precedence.