Giving a pup a good base for Schutzhund? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-12-2012, 08:17 PM Thread Starter

Giving a pup a good base for Schutzhund?

Hello all.

I'm having a bit of trouble getting the info I need for the pup we will be getting here in a couple of weeks.

My family and I began our search for a pup at the beginning of this year, and finally settled on a breeder in April. The pups of a couple different litters were born in May, and our pup will be ready to come home the first week of July. We are super excited.

I have a tendency to ramble a lot, so I'll try to keep this as brief as possible. I have extensive experience with GSDs, obedience, etc., but this will be my first Schutzhund dog. High Plains Schutzhund is about three hours from us and is the club I think I'd like to become involved with when our pup is ready for training, since I've heard many good things about them. However, because of the distance involved, and the fact that we only have one car, driving down there very often won't be feasible, which means I'll have to do as much of the work as I can at home.

I've contacted them by email, and they let me know when they have "open" days for visitors to come see them, and once we have our pup, I do plan on making a trip to do just that. However, I've asked multiple times what sorts of things I can do at home when we first get the pup to help get him ready for his future training, and I'm not getting ANY info, and I'm getting a bit frustrated. I'm not asking them to tell me extensively how to train, or anything. Just a few tips on making sure I don't inadvertently kill his drive, what sort of basic equipment (balls, tugs, etc.) I can use with him as a baby, etc. Every time I ask, the lady I speak with just tells me to get a flat collar and a leash. Well, no kidding.