Intimidate...wait...attack - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-30-2012, 02:01 AM Thread Starter

Intimidate...wait...attack

Hello... I'm new to Schutzhund and I'm doing the training myself. I have a 5 month old male German Shepherd who is amazingly intelligent. He is my first GSD after having several flavors of Labrador. The GSD is light years ahead of any dog I've had in the past. My Lab is as dumb as a box or rocks compared to my GSD. Training is going well, but I do have a question on an exercise. I'm not sure what its called, but it goes like this: the dog is released, the dog runs up to the decoy and barks at him but does not attack, when the decoy makes a threatening move the dog attacks without further command. I want to say it's called "Bark and Hold", but I'm not sure. Can anyone help?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-30-2012, 09:03 AM
Banned

Yes it's called a Bark and Hold.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-30-2012, 09:05 AM
Elite Member

A very useful exercise to say the least.
So why are you doing the training yourself, is there not a club nearby?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-30-2012, 09:10 AM
Crowned Member

If you don't know what you are doing, it might not be a good idea to train Schutzhund yourself.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Norden von Narnia (Hans) DOB 1-15-12

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Rolf, German import DOB 6-7-2019
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-30-2012, 05:50 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast View Post
Yes it's called a Bark and Hold.
Thanks!
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-30-2012, 06:58 PM
Knighted Member

Yeah, bad idea to train Schutzhund by yourself... especially if you are new to the sport and the breed.