Do I want to do this or not? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 04-12-2012, 08:23 PM Thread Starter
Master Member

Do I want to do this or not?

I am REALLY new to Schutzhund- never heard of it until I got Dooney from the breeder. I wanted to get a better handle on Dooney and her obedience-so I brought her to the trainer that my breeder uses for OB and Shutzhund (same one that TrickyShepherd just went to).

I went with the purpose of JUST doing OB but 2 of Dooney's littermate brothers and her older brother were staying for bitework, so I hung around for the bitework. When the decoy got into his gear and cracked the whip Dooney went NUTS- she wanted him. Needless to say I had the trainer evaluate her for bitework and needless to say she passed and is cleared to do it IF i am interested. So here is the question.. Do I want to do this?

Let me say- PLEASE nobody take offense to anything I say, I mean no harm or offense- I WOULD love to do this with her, but I need some education first.

I want to be able to have Dooney out around other people and be a (for lack of a better word here) "normal" dog. So many of the Schutzhund dogs I am around (including those at training) aren't out hanging out with their owners (even when NOT working on bitework) I don't want to turn her into a dog that can't be around other people, or that needs to be crated constantly if others are around, to feel like I can't "trust" her. I want to still be able to have my "pet" I guess as well as a "working" dog. Am I making any sense here? Is this even possible? Does she have to be one or the other, or can she both? Can I still trust her to be around kids? Especially my 4 year old nephew that she is already protective of. I know ALOT of this depends on the dog, training, etc and I am going to talk to the trainer some more this weekend. But I really wanted to get some helpful input from all of you as well. Thank you in advance!

Wendy