completely scared off - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 81 (permalink) Old 03-08-2012, 07:49 AM Thread Starter

completely scared off

the pup and i went to visit/watch training at a local club yesterday and we saw...

constant, HARD jerking on prongs,
yelling,
kicking,
pulling ears,
yelping from shock collars,
etc.

i just finished reading sheila booth's purely positive training and needless to say what we saw was horrible. most of this was done by the director of the club during the obidience stuff and she wonders why one of her four dogs pulled, twisted, fought and would not sit as they were about to begin bite work. i understand that this is "old school" training and these dogs need to be tough, but i won't be going back to this club. **removed by Admin**... is this training typical at a lot of the smaller clubs? am i just naive? i have no experience training schutzhund but was very interested until yesterday. we might have to find a new sport...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 81 (permalink) Old 03-08-2012, 08:26 AM
Crowned Member

That's too bad. Maybe there's another club nearby.
post #3 of 81 (permalink) Old 03-08-2012, 08:29 AM
Crowned Member

If you're very interested don't let one person/one bad experience make up your mind...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 81 (permalink) Old 03-08-2012, 08:44 AM Thread Starter

just to clarify...

i am not bashing this clubs methods. to each his own. i just don't want to train my pup this way. i don't plan on him doing police work, etc. just trying to find something fun for us to do together.
post #5 of 81 (permalink) Old 03-08-2012, 08:45 AM

I have no experience in Schutzhund training, but I did observe some of it at a place in Michigan. It was nothing like you have described. The dogs seemed to be having a positive experience. I wouldn't give up on it, just keep looking for a club that is compatible with your views on dog training.