Where a Total Novice Can Start - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 03:35 AM Thread Starter
Elite Member

Where a Total Novice Can Start

Well, the more I read about various things, the more interested I am in maybe doing SchH at some point. However, I don't think I should do it with Koshka, as he is going to be a service mobility dog, and will have plenty on his plate as it is. (Tell me if I'm wrong on that one.) I'm looking at 2+ years before I would even start looking for a pup, but of course would like to be sure this is truly what I want to do, and have a running start on knowledge.

Anyway, I'm about as clueless as it gets on where to start, or what sources might be good ones to learn from. I'm curious as to whether there are any clubs near me in Erie PA (I'd prefer to stay within 2-2.5 hours driving distance) that allow observers/visitors. Would it be reasonable to contact them (if I find them) and ask if I can help with setup/cleanup in exchange for getting to observe, even though I don't currently have a SchH prospect?

I'd also love to find out what books and/or websites are good ones to start reading/learning from so that I can get a good idea of the basics in addition to what will be involved in working a dog. Or say I wind up not being able to get another dog, but would like to be involved, how might I go about learning to be a Helper?

Thank you for any info/help you can give me as I start learning about something completely new!

My Dog: Krissie ~ Beagle Mix Extraordinaire 09/09
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 09:20 AM
Crowned Member

www.germanshepherddog.com I think most clubs would be fine with you coming to watch-don't think that you would have to clean up just to watch
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 09:21 AM
Crowned Member

Schutzhund training in Drive and Purely Positive -are both good books
Sponsored Links
Advertisement