Meeting with Schutzhund Club - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-15-2012, 09:22 AM Thread Starter
Knighted Member

Meeting with Schutzhund Club

So I'm meeting with one of the Schutzhund clubs in about an hour and a half to watch their training session and ask questions. Does anybody have suggestions for what questions I should ask? What should I be looking for in the training session? I'm new at this, sorry. I just want to be sure that if I go with a Schutzhund club I have put a significant amount of thought into it beforehand so I am prepared for anything.

Viking vom Zeder-Kamme (11/19/2011)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-15-2012, 06:59 PM
Administrator & LOTR Addict

Sorry you didn't get an answer. Many of us train on Sundays. How did it go?

Lisa Clark

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SG1 Deja IPO3 AWD1 KKL1 B/HOT, SG Elena IPO1 KKL CGC B/HOT, LB (the ugly little sable) IPO2 TR3 KKL B/HOT, Jarka (up and coming) BHOT, and gone but not forgotten,
Vala SchH3 AWD1 FH2 CGC B/HOT, Donovan IPO1 TR2 AD, Nike SchH1 OB1 TR3 AD CGC HOT, Treue SchH3 CD CGC HOT

post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-15-2012, 07:18 PM
Crowned Member

This probably doesn't help, but I'm more of a "go with my gut" than using a script of questions. First, I have to get along with the people. I don't care if they are God's gift to mankind, if I don't get along with them what's the point (don't have to be my best friends, but have to be people I'm glad to spend 8 hours with). So, I'd be getting a feel for the overall culture of the club. If there's anything that makes me really uncomfortable as far as the training methods, tools, treatment of the dogs or people, I don't really care what kind of explanation they can offer or how many years they've been doing it that way.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement