Schutzhund for the newbie/Schutzhund in NJ - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-16-2011, 11:17 PM Thread Starter

Schutzhund for the newbie/Schutzhund in NJ

For anyone who hasn't seen my other thread about my new dog research, I am not a beginner dog owner however I do not have a dog at the moment and won't for almost another year. I am doing a LOT of research so I am not positive on what I will be getting but I would like to learn some more about this sport. I read one book on the sport so far. I can not remember the name but it is a hard cover book with a mostly light blue cover. On the cover is an A-frame with I believe a German Shepherd on it.

Anyways, is there anyone here that casually works in Schutzhund? Is that even possible? To dabble in the sport with your dog? Or is this a full fledged commitment? I don't believe I have the time I believe you would need to invest to seriously compete and be competitive. On the other hand, I don't even know what that consists of. I don't know how far I'd have to travel to a club or if there is one in my area. Which leads to my next question.

Does anyone from New Jersey belong to a club? Is it in our state? If not, how far do you travel and how serious are you in the sport?

It is sad that maturity sometimes leads us not into a greater depth of experience and more intense enjoyment of our world but rather to an apathetic belief that we've already been there and done that. - Suzanne Clothier
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-17-2011, 08:03 AM
Crowned Member

There are plenty of schutzhund clubs in NJ. Best thing for you to do would be to go visit a few and get the feel of what it is all about. Then you can decide if it is for you or not.

Carolina Johnson

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-17-2011, 08:24 AM
Crowned Member