Teaching a older dog the Fuss - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-14-2011, 08:24 PM Thread Starter

Teaching a older dog the Fuss

Though he is not a german shepherd, I figure someone here might have some insight that might help me. Last year I started training my 6 yr old Cattle dog for ScH alongside my GSD pup. Radar is doing wonderful at most of his commands, but I am having some difficulty during the fuss. I can't keep his gaze up at me, and the fuss command in general. The attention on me, i don't know if that will ever come, I have tried food, toys, becoming a ecstatic idiot etc... it just doesn't hold. Our trainer has watched him, worked with him and says he is just too aware of his surroudings, ready to take on any trouble.
If I have him in front of me for the here! ( SP? don't remember the correct spelling in german) and I say fuss, I swear I get this glazed look in his eyes, and just stares at me, not moving. I have worked and worked and worked with him on this. I am getting really frustrated with it.

Any one have some tips to help? My GSD pup ( well she's not really a pup anymore over a year old!) has it down pat, but he doesn't. Tracking he is doing well at, LOVES the bite work, and has exceptional comprehension of almost any other command EXCEPT fuss!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-18-2011, 10:33 AM
Crowned Member

Hey newlife! I don't have an answer, I have a similar question in fact.

I have always been an AKC person and the heel exercise is a bit different. I heel with my left hand at my waist instead of moving freely. In SchH I have to have my arms moving naturally at my sides.

Problem is the dog understands upwards focus with my arm at my waist. I have trained him to target my wrist when heeling.