How to find a good club? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-28-2011, 01:26 AM Thread Starter
Crowned Member

Question How to find a good club?

Major newbie here as I have never done any Sch, but looking for more advanced obed work & would also be interested in tracking.

My main question is, how to find a club? A good club? Looking for a friendly down to earth group/club. I am fairly close to the Columbus, OH area if anyone can lead me in a direction. Thanks much........

~Jen~

Sable~ GSD NJP, OJP, NAP, NAJ, NA, TN-N, NAC, NJC, CGC
Shadow~ BGSD *Adopted* RN, CGC
Storm~ GSD RA, TN-N, CGC
Skyrah~ GSD, CGC

"Money will buy you a pretty good dog, but it won't buy the wag of his tail."
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-28-2011, 08:18 AM
Crowned Member

I would visit any ones you can and then decide. Sometimes the closest isn't always the best. There are five other clubs/groups/helpers that are closer to me than the club I currently train with (and I used to go 2.5 hours away instead of 1.5, the whole club moved closer). What I personally look for are people that are focused on training and trialing, people that have goals and at least a few clubs members who have experience trialing/titling. It doesn't have to be run like the military but I like to see regular commitment and attendance from everyone and see everyone helping everyone else, not just coming to work their dogs and going on their way.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-28-2011, 09:18 AM
Administrator & Alpha Bitch of the Wild Bunch