Making our Schutzhund Club an "Inc"... help? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-14-2010, 04:36 PM Thread Starter
Elite Member

Send a message via AIM to VaBeachFamily Send a message via Yahoo to VaBeachFamily
Making our Schutzhund Club an "Inc"... help?

I know, I ask a lot of questions....

We are making our club official through DVG... But... we are going to want to get the 501 non profit, and I am in charge of figuring out how to become " Incorporated"? make us TSC Inc.

~Kristi in Virginia Beach
Mommy to my 8 year old son... and

~ Cullen Vom Sandstranden, Purebred GSD, Black/Red Male : 12/16/09

~ Panzer Vom Sandstranden, Purebred GSD, Sable Female : 11/29/10

~ Gizmo , Amstaff, Brindle/White Female : 5/5/2000
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-14-2010, 05:59 PM
Elite Member

hi vabeachfam,

i have an accounting degree, but an not a CPA.

To incorporate means to become a corporation. I would recommend you form an S-Corp for that. limited liability for owners, cheap annual fee, good for companies with under 25 share holders

To become a non-profit, you need to become a 501C3. I really don't know much about 501c3's but it is entirely different paperwork/forms than an S-corp.

I'd say start by clarifying with the group if you guys want to be an S-corp OR a non profit 501c3.

then you would got to your states secretary of state website, and they'll have all the forms.

some people use legalzoom for this. some people hire and accountant, others a lawyer, and others do it all on their own

A tired puppy is a good puppy

CODY - Sable GSD Born 11/15/09
MANDI - GSD/Husky/Lab Mix Born 6/3/06
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-14-2010, 07:19 PM Thread Starter
Elite Member

Send a message via AIM to VaBeachFamily Send a message via Yahoo to VaBeachFamily