Schultzhund vs Personal Protection? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-24-2010, 11:36 PM Thread Starter

Schultzhund vs Personal Protection?

I'm fairly new to either topics, and though I've read a few articles on each, the picture's still a bit fuzzy for me.

I know that dogs trained in Schultzhund are trained in tracking, obedience and protection. What makes the Schultzhund protection differ from the Personal Protection Training?

^^"" Sorry if the question seems stupid or obvious. I'm new to...well, everything German Shepherd Dog!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-25-2010, 03:54 AM
Crowned Member

no worries. there are TONS of people on this site that would be more than happy to explain it! From what i know, Sch. is a sport which i'm sure you already know but its also used in Germany to determine which dogs will make good breeding stock. Personal protection is for those who have a reason to need a protection dog, such as if someone were to have a stalker (think along the lines of the Scream movies. She had a need) or someone like heads of state. I mean anyone can have a personal protection dog (federal permits allow the dog to go ANYWHERE) but most of the time you have to have a real need for one. Crazy ex boyfriend that has a restraining order but the cops havent been able to bust him when he gets too close yet. Live alone. Theres a lot. Like i said though, others will have better info. I could just be speaking jiberish as i'm exhausted. lol.

Shasta GSD 5/5/10 CGC, ITD, TC
"Dax" Thor z vom Weberhaus BCAT CAX2 CGCA ETD HCT NCO-1 PKD-T RATI RATN RA TC TKA 3/18/2013
"Hades" Guilty vom Blutfeuer 10/26/2018
Zena GSD 6/1/03-2/16/2016
Riley GSD/BC 1/10/05-2/1/2013
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-27-2010, 10:15 AM
Administrator & Alpha Bitch of the Wild Bunch