Tricks to make him focus on me? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-30-2010, 03:29 PM Thread Starter
Elite Member

Red face Tricks to make him focus on me?

Everytime I watch those videos where the dog is so focus on the handler make me jalous

I try to make Phenix focus on me but it just don't work as well as I want it.

If I ask him "fix" he will. If I have a treat or a toy he like, he will fix, but only for a few seconds/minutes.

I can't get him focus more than a few seconds on walks......he can have a very nice focus when he doesn't move, but on walk is't different...

Any of you can help me?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-30-2010, 03:30 PM
Crowned Member

Well I'm not very good at stuff like this, but Motomo and Dakoda both "focus" when I tap them on the neck lightly then hold my hand to my chin.

Kymmey
Mom To~ Dakoda (b/t GSD), Acheron (black GSD)
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-30-2010, 03:36 PM
Master Member

shilo isnt so good at it either, are you trying focas while walking?? if you want that you have to walk back wards faceing your dog and ask for it then walk side ways then walk forward, with regular you can hold it to your eyes, call his/her name and when they look at you treat, or put food in your mouth and when the get eye contact drop the food, those are just things ive herd..

Elios. 2 year old light liver GSD
Toast. Hedgehog
Gizmo. Blue point, kink tailed kitten .

"Money will buy you a pretty good dog, but it won't buy the wag of his tail.."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-30-2010, 03:56 PM
Crowned Member