Schutzhund Training without bitework? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 05-17-2010, 03:51 PM Thread Starter
Knighted Member

Schutzhund Training without bitework?

I'm a complete noob to Schutzhund and have contacted some clubs in the area but still waiting to hear back.
Is it a faux pas to do only tracking and obedience without the protection?
The reason I ask is that Ontario Canada has some strict new laws about "dangerous breeds" with punishments that include fine/prison/banned from owning dogs in the future/etc. and if any accidents ever occur, I don't want to be sued and accused of training a killing machine.
I would just like to compete with Jax and see how well we could do in the other two.
Would this make me a complete outcast?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 (permalink) Old 05-17-2010, 04:09 PM
Administrator & Alpha Bitch of the Wild Bunch

The SchH organizations do allow for obedience and tracking titles to be pursued separately, without bitework.

Whether or not an individual club would allow it would of course come down to that club. It wouldn't necessarily make you an outcast, no, though you'd probably get some weird looks.

But do be aware that one thing most SchH clubs face is that there are often far more people interested in doing SchH than clubs can accomodate. I know I'm frequently turning away people who would probably make excellent additions to our club, simply due to the fact that we've reached the saturation point of how many people we can accomodate given limited time and other resources. Unfortunately most other clubs in this area are full, or close to it as well. This is a very common situation in some areas.