help with fuss/find left leg? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 04-14-2010, 11:22 PM Thread Starter
Master Member

help with fuss/find left leg?

I have started teaching fuss with the flip finish to my 8 mo (this is my first time training it), and I've been luring her with food while placing my left leg back a step, luring her around, then walking forward a couple of steps to get her straight. About 50% of the time she will come by my leg nice and straight, the other 50% she's more turned towards me with her butt out and crooked and I have to move over beside her to make it the correct position before I mark & reward.
Thought about using Ivan Balabanov method of basically putting her into position with her collar so that I can control her better. One of the problems is that I train OB using Michael Ellis methods so as I'm running around and getting her straight in front of me to get ready to lure her to the left, as soon as I stop, she stops and does an automatic sit, probably because she knows that command best. But I think this screws up the forward motion and can make it hard on me to lure her correctly.
Can someone help me to figure out what to try from here? I don't think I'm just totally doing it wrong altogether since I've watched several youtube videos on the subject (some of them from people here) but obviously either I have some part of the exercise wrong or there is a better/easier way to train it (at least for my pup). I really want to get the focused heeling by ME video, but I got my first speeding ticket that ended up being really expensive. So I have to wait until the semester is over in a few weeks, and I start working.
Suggestions? What has worked best for you?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 04-15-2010, 09:28 PM
Elite Member