Complete Novice To SchH, So I Have Some Questions... - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-02-2010, 11:32 PM Thread Starter
Knighted Member

Complete Novice To SchH, So I Have Some Questions...

First off, does anyone know of any clubs in the Phoenix or surrounding areas, I tried Googling some, but I'm not sure of the results so I figured my best bet would be to just ask here.

Secondly, would it be proper etiquette to visit a club and ask if I can sit in on a few sessions (without my dog, of course) so see how things work there?

Next, I'm not certain on the age of Koda, but the Vet thinks he's between 1 and 2 years old, is that an okay age to start them on SchH training?

As far as evaluation and training goes, I'm assuming if the trainer decides that he's fit for SchH that he'll learn commands during training, correct? He knows sit and shake (shake isn't really useful for this), and that's about it (I've only had him for a very short time). He comes to his name consistently in the house and the yard, less often when there are distractions present however. He is attached to my hip in the house, but when we get outside, it's a different story, hence why I'd like to get him into SchH, for the obedience. So again, I'm assuming that he doesn't need to be going into this knowing a lot for the evaluation, as he will be learning it if they see that he's fit for the training?