How to end a play/training session - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-08-2009, 09:19 PM Thread Starter

How to end a play/training session

Let me say that I am completely new at this. We have only been going to the SchH club for 3 weeks.

What does it mean to leave them “always wanting more?”
I understand when playing/training I am suppose to end on a high note. But does this mean that the puppy has to go into the crate right away or can we just move on to something else like going for a walk or playing with other non-training toys?

I know everyone does things a little differently. I am just curious what others are doing.

Jessica

The Dog
Haas- GSD 9 months

The Kitties
Bell
Bronco
Stinky (yep, that's his name)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-08-2009, 09:28 PM
Crowned Member

Re: How to end a play/training session

As a newb this is what I have done;
If I am working on a certain lesson, crate time is good afterward, so he can process what he has just gone thru. This goes for tracking, too.
Short sessions for obedience are better than one that adds stress or the pup loses interest.
I would not go for a walk immediately or turn him out to play with the other dogs, crating after a session is a way for the pup to want more(of you) as well.

Jane~
Kept by
Gambit zu Treuen Handen

Guinness auf der Marquis...Karlo son!

Always in my heart
Karlo aka Gideon vom Wildhaus
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
3.02.09~12.03.18
Kacie
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
7.21.05-5.01.15
Onyx
11.08.06-9.28.18
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-08-2009, 09:48 PM
dOg
Elite Member

It's a less is more thing...