how to prepare for an evaluation? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-11-2009, 06:26 PM Thread Starter
Master Member

how to prepare for an evaluation?

I'm interested in getting involved in schutzhund with my 9 month old GSD. I found a trainer that wants to meet my dog for an assessment as to what she knows and where we need to begin. She's trained in English, so aside from teaching her sitz & platz, what should she know before we meet the trainer?
She heels fine on a lead, but not the way it would be expected for this activity. Her sit, down, stand, and stays are really very good.
Other than that, she knows lots of tricks which are cute but useless for this purpose.
How would I get ready?
In case you didn't notice, I'm a complete novice. This will be my first experience in that arena.

Jiva / GSD 3 yr
Coco / MIX 8 yr
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-11-2009, 06:44 PM
Crowned Member

Re: how to prepare for an evaluation?

Honestly, a good SchH trainer is probably going to be looking more at her temperament, soundness, drives, how she interacts with you adn the environment, etc. These are things that you can't really prepare and train for like you would specific skills. When I started training my now 6, then 4.5 year old dog in Schutzhund, I basically re-taught pretty much all of her obedience anyway.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-11-2009, 06:50 PM
The Administrator from the Great White North, eh?

You can use English commands in Schutzhund, so no worries there.

The evaluation will not be so much about what Jiva already knows, but more to see if she would be a good candidate for protection work. They will want to see her confidence in a new place, interacting with new people she has never met before. They will play with her with a tug or rag to see how much prey drive she has.