Harness vs. Agitation Collar - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-22-2009, 01:43 PM Thread Starter

Harness vs. Agitation Collar

I'm still very new to SchH. so I hope this isn't a dumb question

I have a harness that I use for Heidi when we do protection and since we pretty new to bitework it is working well for her. I've also seen people use agitation collars for bite work and I'm just curious as to why one is used over the other? Is it just preference, or are their some things that the harness is better for and other things that the collar is better for?

Thanks!

Karen

Heidi Die Eitle Prinzessin,TR1, BH, CGC, TC - 06-16-06
Lucas Maly Medved, CGC - 08-27-08
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-22-2009, 01:52 PM
Administrator & Alpha Bitch of the Wild Bunch

Re: Harness vs. Agitation Collar

Generally it comes down to personal preference, though depending on what is being done in an individual training session one can be better than the other.

I personally prefer harnesses for back tie work. It allows the dog more freedom of movement of the head and neck and thus to me seems safer and less likely to cause injury because the dog's body is taking the brunt of his pulling and lunging, not his neck. It also doesn't constrict the throat and interfere with barking like a collar can. The downside is that they also have more give to them, and some dogs learn to stretch through the harness managing to gain several inches of reach, which can be a bit tricky since an important factor of back tie work is for the helper to know exactly where the dog can reach, and where he can't, and there is more variance in those things with a harness than with a collar.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-22-2009, 02:05 PM
Crowned Member