Schutzhund Club visit, what am I looking for? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-27-2009, 08:10 PM Thread Starter
Crowned Member

Schutzhund Club visit, what am I looking for?

I will be heading to our local Schutzhund Club in about a weeks time and would like some guidance.

I am new to the "dog sport world" as most of you know so I am not sure what I should be looking for.

The first time I go I will NOT be brining Stark. I have decided to wait until I check it out myself before I bring him along.

The club's website is listed below and I would very much appreciate some feedback.

http://saugeenschutzhund.homestead.com/

What kinds of questions should I be asking? What should I look for?

Thank you for your input, it is always valued.

G Wild Winds Zephyr of Cognac BH, HIC, NTD, ITD, CGN, TT
Wild Winds Archangel Raphael HIC, TT
XX z Weberhaus
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-27-2009, 08:22 PM
The Administrator from the Great White North, eh?

Re: Schutzhund Club visit, what am I looking for?

Good call on not bringing Stark. Usually clubs don't want potential new members to bring their dogs right away. They prefer, as you are doing, for the person to just come and watch and get a feel for what training is like.

The main thing you should look for is to see if the club would be a good fit for your persnoality. Some clubs are very competitive, and personal relations fall to the wayside in favour of getting the max out of the dogs, while others are more relaxed and in it for the fun, though still training for competition.

I would look to see if people are having fun, if the members and TD is polite and positive. Do the dogs look like they are having fun? Does the club look like they are relatively organized? Are people willing to answer your questions and give you some info on what is going on.

I think you should just go with an open mind and be ready to ask a lot of questions.

Lucia