Dealing with the public. - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-15-2009, 08:49 PM Thread Starter
Elite Member

Dealing with the public.

I am very new to Schutzhund. Just 4 weeks. Last night, I went to the local park to work on tracking. While I was laying out scent boxes, a woman walked by with 2 GSDs. I said hello and through brief conversation, mentioned what I was doing. She said that her one dog had a tracking title and the other was working on it. I mentioned that we just started doing SchH. She replied, "Well! WE wouldn't do something like THAT. We don't want any mean dogs!" Then she walked off.

I was so taken off guard. That is the stupidest thing I have ever heard. My dog is a complete sweetie! In fact, last time we worked, he left the field with the sleeve and dropped it so he could greet all the club members before going to the car. We have a hard time getting him to focus during tracking because he wants to see what the people are doing. This sport is making him so vicious!

It was one of those situations where I WISH I would have said something back to her, but I was just too irritated. So, my question is... What do you say to comments like that?

Amy
Bison (Indo vom Triton) CGC
Grizzly vom Buchonia
RIP- Bear*Gator*Moose

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- God/Dog Blog
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-15-2009, 08:52 PM
Crowned Member

Re: Dealing with the public.

I would just roll my eyes and let her go, and then mutter under my breath, "well WE don't need any idiots like you!"

Luckily, around here no one knows what SchH is unless they are doing it themselves, so if people ask, I get to control what they know about it. I generally describe it very vaguely and always emphasize that it's three phases, not the "attack dog training" people are thinking of.
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-15-2009, 09:00 PM