The importance of rituals... - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-25-2009, 11:29 AM Thread Starter
Crowned Member

The importance of rituals...

I'm looking for opinions/experiences on how important (or not) you think little rituals are when training or competing in Schutzhund. What I mean is, little things like how you load/unload your dog, what little work you say or sounds you make before going onto the field, whether you let the dog get a little whiff of their tracking reward (if used), how you warm up, etc. Stuff like that that is not part of what is being scored.

I am very new to SchH and more and more I see a lot of emphesis placed on these little rituals, sometimes almost as much as the training itself. This is something very new to me as a dog owner. Now as a gymnast I can *totally* relate, lol. Every routine in every competition had a ritual for me, even how I did my hair, how I stretched out, prepped my hands, etc. But as far as my dogs, up until now I haven't placed any emphesis on developing a ritual. With Kenya I have dabbled in a few things - three levels of rally obedience, two types of agility, three CGC exams, a temperament test, and the obedience phases for Family Obedience and Protection 1 for dog sport. We'll do the BH and CD as soon as I get around to it. So far my only ritual has been letting my dog sniff around the venue, doing a few minutes of warm up, then putting the dog up until its our turn. But I don't use the same leash/collar, say the same word, load/unload the dog the same or anything like that. In fact in these areas of training I purposely "mixed it up" whenever possible so that the dog was proofed to perform her skills in any condition in any order. Now these other things I have done with Kenya are not as complicated as SchH, but she's done very well (has never NQ'd or failed anything yet). But with Nikon I feel more pressure to develop these little rituals with him. So I am wonderi