Confused.... - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-21-2009, 10:57 PM Thread Starter
Crowned Member

Confused....

Please tell me this is because I am a newbie and it will all become clear eventually! Over the past few weeks I've been trying to focus on Schutzhund, now that it's warmer and there's light outside. I went to a workshop in Kentucky and have been working with some different people here and there. After each session, I leave with a mental list of new things I've learned that's about a mile long, which is good, but it seems like each person I go to for training tells me something different. For example, one person watched me with my dog and told me not to use a toy reward, just food, and that it was OK he have a prong on. Then another person watched me doing the same stuff (this time with only food) and said the food is good but I should start trying a toy reward and that my dog doesn't need a prong. Both of these people have plenty of experience and titled many dogs HOT/B-HOT. I'm not fishing for specific training advice, lord knows I'm still processing what we've been learning over the past few weeks, but what I want to know is, do you get to a point where you just have to commit to one person/club/method and stick it out? Because I am so green I don't know who is "better" or who is more right, and I feel like if I pick bits from one and bits from another maybe they will conflict with each other. But I don't want to pick a method because it's easier or more comfortable for me (for example, training with food is "easier" for me because up until now that's all I've ever done, my other dogs have no drive for balls, and training without a prong is more natural to me because my other dog is so submissive she doesn't need that). Do I just go with my gut? Each time I do some training with someone, I feel like I'm playing that halftime baseball game where you put your nose on the bat, spin until you're dizzy, and the