How old is "too old" for Schutzhund? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-16-2009, 10:35 AM Thread Starter

How old is "too old" for Schutzhund?

(Disclaimer – I’m new to Schutzhund so forgive the ignorance please)

I'm curious at around what age do most dogs stop training in Schutzhund.

And can they continue to work in some areas even at older ages...like tracking, or does their sense of smell start fading as they get older?

Also I’m curious how often dogs get injured in Schutzhund. The protection part looks VERY demanding on the dog and it would seem like they would occasionally get hurt.

Also what are the effects on their teeth from protection training. Seems like there would be some added wear and tear…or could they even lose a tooth from this kind of stuff?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-16-2009, 10:40 AM
Crowned Member

Re: How old is "too old" for Schutzhund?

Yes they can lose teeth, and yes on some dogs the wear and tear is more noticeable than others. Oxana has alot of wear on her teeth. Hardy is 7, I still work him. His teeth are ok. I do tracking and protection with him. I don't do too much of the jumps/a-frame stuff with him as I don't want him getting injured.

But I do take him out each week to help other members in our club with training, and to give our decoys in training a safe dog to work to prepare for the certification later this year.

I wouldn't say I've seen too many dogs injured. I have seen dogs jammed on sleeves, limp after leaping off the top of the a-frame, that sort of thing. I've not seen anything permanent.

Angela

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Hardy, Diesel, Jet, Denial v. Zioner Berg, Iris & Patches the cats
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-16-2009, 10:50 AM
Administrator & Alpha Bitch of the Wild Bunch