First-time GSD owners getting dog from bad situation - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 29Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 39 (permalink) Old 06-13-2016, 11:22 AM Thread Starter

Unhappy First-time GSD owners getting dog from bad situation

My fiance and I have been browsing German Shepherds for a few months now, and have really fallen in love with the breed after doing our research and meeting different dogs. My fiance was raised with dogs in his home, and I lived with a shepherd (my housemate's dog) for about a year. We quickly decided that a puppy is not for us since I will be the dog's primary caregiver and have never raised a small dog and taught it all the things it needs to know for life. We felt that we would perhaps like to rescue a dog, even a mix, because all of our animals have been rescue animals. We came across a family who is trying to get rid of their four year old German Shepherd due to a divorce, and when we met the dog, I completely fell in love with her. She is house trained, knows basic commands, leash trained, and comes from what appears to be a strong line of working police dogs (she is AKC registered). Her temperament was sweet, and she was very laid-back and gentle, which are some qualities I was looking for in an older dog. She has also been raised with cats and leaves them completely alone, which is a bonus for us because we have two.