Puppy Not Playing When I'm Around - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-04-2018, 02:11 AM Thread Starter

Puppy Not Playing When I'm Around

So Penny is 4 months old. I am wondering if her behavior is "normal" for a puppy her age.
I have taken her out to places to socialize her, and have her experience different environmental things. I try not to overwhelm her and cause anxiety. But, I'm new to puppy hood as its been 15 years since I've had one. So I am sure I have made a few mistakes.
I have taken her to the dog park, and all she really does is follow me around as I'm walking. (I'm fine with that). She does show SOME interest in the other dogs, but she does not really seek out their attention. Usually its the other dog approaching her, and they will both sniff butts, then part ways.
I have enrolled her in puppy class (obedience class) and during social time she still follows me around, not playing with the other puppies. When they try to, she turns away or backs away, sort of acting like she doesnt know what to do, and has this confused look. But, when I have had to drop her off for doggy day care twice, (same place where the obedience classes are) they say she is a playing fiend. That she really lets loose.

HUH????

Doesn't sound like my puppy lol I do see her play, at home, as she likes to play with her lab sister and chihuahua sister, but I've never seen her play with other puppies or dogs!
Also she got a little mouthy with the trainer tonight, and when class first started, and he got up in front, she kept barking at him when he tried to speak 🙄
Thanks all for any advice!!

Is this condusive to the GSD behavior?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20181129_204433_1543903735720.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	115.0 KB
ID:	515063  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-04-2018, 03:24 AM
Crowned Member

Why would you want her to play with strange dogs?