Breeding - how often is too often? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 03-24-2009, 09:12 AM Thread Starter
Master Member

Breeding - how often is too often?

How often is too often to breed a female? I came across a breeder announcing a new litter and recalled the momma having pups just 5 months ago. It seemed really soon, but I am no expert. Just trying to increase my GSD knowledge. Thanks!

*Tetley's Mom*

Tetley - GSD 1 Yr Old
Cheddar - Orange Tabby Cat
Cannoli - B&W Ragdoll Cat
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 (permalink) Old 03-24-2009, 09:20 AM
Crowned Member

Re: Breeding - how often is too often?

Some times breeders will do a back to back breeding, however, they should give them a brake after that. If they breed more than twice in a row, I would be leary.

Carolina Johnson

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 32 (permalink) Old 03-24-2009, 09:27 AM
Crowned Member

I hate seeing females bred season after season continuously for their reproductive lifetimes....it makes me sad for her...

I don't mind seeing an occassional back to back if the female is given a break before and after, and lives a life as a normal dog - not a puppy factory...I also know that a good producer who is a good and happy mother can stay in good physical shape and have pups at 8 years old - other females look worn out and old at 5 and can have had 6 litters by that age....

Unfortunately, in Europe, many many females are bred continuously until they fail to conceive....interestingly, in Denmark, females can only have 4 litters - period. They are not allowed to be bred after producing 4 litters.

Lee

Hexe Sch2, Komet & Kougar IPO1, Kira HGH, SG Bengal, Lynx v Wolfstraum ~ Ziberia IPO1 ~ ATB Basha, Kougar & Kyra, Fenja, Sch3s, Cito, Sch2, DangerRH, Csabre & Alice Sch1s ~Kelsey
wolfstraum.net
Sponsored Links
Advertisement