Longhair/Plus coat? Breeding? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 48 (permalink) Old 01-11-2009, 02:50 PM Thread Starter

Longhair/Plus coat? Breeding?

okay, im new to this but have a question. I've been told that i can't breed my German Shepherd due to the fact that he is possibly Longcoat. I think he is more plush. Is there a difference between the two? (Long & Plush?)

Mother & Father can be seen below.

Mother: http://www.pedigreedatabase.com/gsd/...ee/406199.html

Father: http://www.pedigreedatabase.com/gsd/...ee/456234.html

Here is a couple pictures of him. Please Advise. I have full registration on him.

Both pics taken at around 8 months of age.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 48 (permalink) Old 01-11-2009, 02:54 PM

Re: Longhair/Plus coat? Breeding?

he is a (gorgeous) longcoat. his parents are not, nor are they 'plush' which is not an official coat length anyhow. plush refers to a thicker under coat, which forces the guard hairs to grow more outward and give you a plush or poofier look.

the arm, tail, and especially ear feathers on your boy make his a signature long coat. (i would add again the original pic which you edited out - there was a shadow, but the view of his body was better)

TILDEN: Male: Blk/Red LHGSD: DOB: 12/24/06 65lbs of Love
KEYSTONE: Male: Sable: DOB: 2/11/13 55lbs of Go!!!!!
post #3 of 48 (permalink) Old 01-11-2009, 02:56 PM
Crowned Member

Can't and shouldn't are 2 totally different things.

His parents are stock coats with the sire being a bit plushier. He has a nice pedigree but I'd be concerned with one of the grandparents having a3 hips.

Have you certified his hips with OFA?

-Jenn

Venus of Crooked Creek 1/26/13
Otto von Hena-C 05/23/08
Morgan Donnermond 08/04/01 to 9/28/12 Long Live the Queen!

I have duct tape and I am not afraid to use it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 48 (permalink) Old 01-11-2009, 02:58 PM Thread Starter

Quote: