dog experience - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-14-2008, 10:55 PM Thread Starter

dog experience

im a hischool student and i want to be in the k9 unit. unfortunatly i do not even own a dog. i work at pet store with many dogs. is this enough experience to be a K9 handler?

Luna 3yr GSD
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-14-2008, 10:59 PM
Master Member

Send a message via AIM to mkennels Send a message via Yahoo to mkennels
Re: dog experience

are you meaning for police, your best bet is to look at clubs in your area and start working with them, alot of people usually bring more than one dog and could use help I am sure which would give you some experience

Janet
UKC CH Mystical Talyn D'Argo, TT, OFA H/E, CERF, AKC DNA
UKC CH Gretchen Julika Little Star, TT, OFA, Cerf, AKC DNA
Von Hornberger's Mystical Knight, TT, CERF, AKC DNA, OFA
Ranita's Heavenly Angel R.I.P 9/15/07-10/15/08

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-14-2008, 11:00 PM
Elite Member

its a start. have you thought about volunteering at a local shelter or rescue feeding, walking and taking care of dogs?

RAMSEY 10/07

Mark.o
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-14-2008, 11:27 PM
The Administrator from the Great White North, eh?

My understanding is that people don't start out in the law enforcement units as K9 handlers. They join up and train as police officers, and after having proven themselves as regular police officers with real-life work experience, they may volunteer to be assigned to a K9 unit, where they receive additional dog handling training.