advice?? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-03-2013, 04:17 PM Thread Starter

advice??

Good afternoon,

I am currently in school for Criminal Justice. I do online schooling, and also work full time at a local tool shop near where I live. I am a certified dog trainer, and have trained and worked with dogs in all different aspects. My boyfriend and I currently have 5 coonhounds and a border collie. I have trained our one coonhound pup completely on how to track and trail a raccoon, as well as how to tree (give an alert) when he has found it and put it up a tree for us. I have also trained my border collie in AKC agility, and he already has a title on him. He was also a certified therapy dog (I say was, because we just do not have the time for it anymore). I also have a German shepherd that lives at my grandparents (I "trained" him to be a guard dog for them, he didn't really need trained though haha). I have also trained numerous other dogs, as well as owned numerous other dogs. I also used to have a dog that I was training in Search & Rescue, but she ended up getting rehomed because she did not get along with my other dogs very well. I am hoping to apply to the municipal police academy when I turn 21 (June 2014), and then after I make it through the academy, and get into a department, I would LOVE to become a part of a K9 Unit (my passion is dogs, if you couldn't tell haha). I was just wondering what advice everyone has on how I can achieve my dream. I know that it is going to be A LOT of hard work, but I am not stopping until I have accomplished it. I WAS supposed to go into the air force, but I injured my knee in soccer, and was unable to go. I was going to do Special Forces there and attempt to become a K9 handler there as well. I just want some advice so that I can be the best candidate I can possibly be. Thank you very much for your time!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement