How is personal protection training done? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-26-2011, 01:02 PM Thread Starter

How is personal protection training done?

Hi,
So I am new to the whole concept of personal protection training and I have a few concerns..
First, do they usually use choke chains, prongs, or other "agitation" collars or devices? And are those what is used to cause correction?

I would like to do personal protection with my future pup, but I am not too keen on the whole correction thing. Can I use a harness instead? And what correction is exactly used? What if the dog performs incorrectly? WHat usually happens? I just like to use positive reinforcement only, and without "forceful" things, so I don't know if this sport can be for me..

I also know every trainer is different, but in general how does this work? Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-26-2011, 01:11 PM
Crowned Member

Here is what i would suggest:

Find your local Schutzhund club, PSA club, or SDA club and go watch a few sessions. There are many different training methods, and we can't tell you which ones are used in your area. If you go watch, you can figure out which, if any, style is for you and your dog.

By the way, an "agitation" collar is a big thick leather collar that the dog can pull on and lunge against when he is agitated and it won't hurt his neck.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- 6 years

At the Bridge:
Cash Adopted 2007 - 7/28/2010
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Rocky 4/19/2002 - 1/16/2015 to DM
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-26-2011, 04:12 PM
Crowned Member

By sport do you mean Schutzhund or personal protection? You mention PP but posted in the SchH section.