Protection for the Wifey! - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 112 (permalink) Old 10-11-2011, 06:04 PM Thread Starter

Smile Protection for the Wifey!

Hello, I'm new here to this website but I figured this was the best sub-category to post this question. I'm a firefighter here in Utah which means I'm gone a good chunk of the week. I work 24 hour shifts which leaves my wife alone at the house. We live in a good neighborhood but the city we live in has a couple bad parts and there's some places we shop that are a little more "shady" than what I'm comfortable with. My wife is a very skinny beautiful woman. Of course, I get very nervous when she has to go shopping while I'm at work. I recently purchased a GSD (male) and I was curious about him becoming a protection dog. I have him signed up for obedience training and the Canine Good Citizenship program and I'm confident he will pass it with ease. He's very well tempered dog and he behaves at all times. My ultimate goal is to be able to have my wife go shopping with my dog without any hassles from the store. Most stores in the area don't care if you have a dog as long as he's a "Service Dog". I don't feel like I need to send him through a full protection dog training class for her to be safe. I figure as long as Sam (my dog) is there, no one will ever want to mess with my wife. So here's my question, is there a way to certify my dog as a service dog without sending him through the full protection training? I haven't even been able to find any protection classes in my area. What are you suggestions? Someone told me you can make your dog your "Emotional Support" animal which is a service dog. In all fairness, he is an emotional support dog because my wife feels much safer with him around. So, what are your suggestions? I know protection training would be the best option but my wife and I are on a limited budget and I heard protection training is very expensive.

Thanks in advance,
George