Hoping to help my pup Eva become a K9 - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-11-2011, 03:54 AM Thread Starter

Hoping to help my pup Eva become a K9

I just noticed this section by chance and joined the forum today.

I got Eva with the hopes of her doing service, preferably becoming a K9. Her parents both were service dogs and have strong drives. I saw another thread regarding some training but right now I'm focusing on the basics.

Does anyone know of a great trainer for police work in the Dallas area?

Also, I am currently finishing college and applying to become a police officer. Is there any chance, even slim with the proper training and work from both Eva and I that we'd be able to work together as K9 and handler after I have some police experience? Just Curious.

Thank you for your time,

Ken, father of:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, Blk & Red GSD pup, 2/1/2011
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

, Orange Tabby
Sam, Siamese mix
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-11-2011, 05:04 AM
Crowned Member

With most departments you do not hire on as a k9 officer. Must have some time then apply. Large departments purchase trained adults. Sometimes small departments will do differently. Feel free to email me privately. There are those who "say" they can train police k9s but trust me, you must be careful. Also the dog must be thoroughly evaluated for drive and temperament at a point.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-11-2011, 07:59 AM
Crowned Member