Importing - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-17-2009, 10:46 AM Thread Starter
Crowned Member

Importing

Just as an FYI. I imported a female GSD last week and almost had a problem with her clearing customs. The airline had made copies of her passport in Germany,put the copies on her crate but forgot her passport. It was still in Frankfurt. I was in the process of scheduling panic because if she did not clear customs she was going to a kennel in Houston until the passport arrived in the US. I did NOT want my pregnant bitch in some kennel. The good news is the they did accept the copies and she cleared. I will in the future,make sure that the shipper has put copies of everything in the world on top of that crate so there is no need to remove the original and advise others to do the same. I have been importing for 25 years and have never had this happen but I plan on trying to make sure that it does not occur again. Lufthansa is a great airline and they did mail me the orginal at no charge.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-17-2009, 10:54 AM
Crowned Member

Re: Importing

Rene, a VERY wise warning. Thank you! I have flown overseas several times with dogs, and Lufthansa has been great to work with. Human error by airport personel looking at the vaccine record in the dog passport, then not slipping it back into the pouch, is a possibility I never thought of, but clearly can happen. Copies of the most recent pages of the passport showing "Impfungen" (vaccines, dates of them, etc) are a great idea. Another thought: If the seller can fax you a copy of the pass port, that's not a bad idea too, now I think of it, to have in hand at pick-up. Thanks for the warning.

Patti
Frauchen von:

Grimm van den Heuvel, aka "The Doofinator"
My strong-minded, very loving boy
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-17-2009, 11:15 AM Thread Starter
Crowned Member

Quote: