Stay means stay - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-04-2015, 06:58 PM Thread Starter

Stay means stay

I need some advice. Simba has been training for competitive obedience for about 8 months. I am really struggling to teach him to stay. He is so so so stubborn so teaching him anything has been really difficult. I am also not the best handler and this is my first time to train a dog anything but the basic manners.
I seem to be going backwards with him. I had started of by standing about a meter away and rewarding him every few seconds with a click and a treat. Then I would build up the time in between rewards and slowly built up distance. It was going well and I could get a solid 30 seconds before rewarding and a full minute in total.The trainer from our class recommended not using treats at all because it encourages him to come to me. But now I can't get him to do it at all. I can't get him even sit at my side when it comes to stays now. He is constantly looking around he licks his lips, he stands up and when I try to put him back into the stay he won't sit down. I was told to push him bum down and not to let him away with it. Keep putting him back until he finally does it but now I feel like he is anxious and that s why he keeps licking his lips.
Any advice on techniques? I feel like forcing him to do it by not letting him get away with it is making him dislike it altogether but then if I let him get away with it I am letting him win
Training can be very difficult!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-04-2015, 07:48 PM
Crowned Member