Obedience not for us? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-09-2015, 10:39 AM Thread Starter

Obedience not for us?

I have been training Simba for obedience for over 8 months now and I just don't think it is for us. After a disastrous show today I am wondering whether we should continue or not He does so well at home and so well at class but once we get to shows it is all gone out the window. He pulls on the lead during heal work to try and get to other dogs he see's in the distance. He leaves the ring during recall every time. He won't stay for even 1 second on sit or down stays. After the first show I decided we just weren't ready and we waited 4 months before entering another but they have all got progressively worse as we go on. Then I thought maybe if we enter a lot of shows he will get more experience which might help. I practice stays and waits anywhere I can so he can do the in any situation but I just don't think I should bother anymore. I even had to ask a lady if she would mind moving away from the ring at a show before we entered because Simba was crying and tugging towards her dog as he wanted to hump her.

The thing that frustrates me the most is that he does so well at class, at home and anywhere else I decide to work with him but once we get to shows he is like a different dog. And because he improves week after week at class I am thinking maybe he is just not happy at show and maybe that is his way of telling me he has had enough. I get frustrated and I don't want to be frustrated or angry at him when I know it isn't his fault but it is hard not to after all of the time and money I have out into it.

Maybe we should just stick to long walks and hikes and agility for fun. He is getting neutered on Monday so I can use the week while he is recovering to think about it!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-09-2015, 10:53 AM