First Rally Competition coming soon! - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-18-2012, 09:44 AM Thread Starter

First Rally Competition coming soon!

Woohoo! Just got my armband number in the mail yesterday for Piper and my first Rally competition. We're going Novice A since I've never done this before either... in fact she's my first dog too! I'm super excited and we've been working on our signs over the past few weeks to brush up on things.

Since this is our first trial we're doing it at our home training school but I know the environment will be very different than class days. Any recommendations on helping her deal with the busy-ness of so many dogs around? Any suggestions on anything else for a newbie? I learned early on that I have to keep my adrenaline down around her, so I'll be working hard to not be nervous

Thanks!

Blackthorn's Piper RE, NA, JHD (13 Feb 11)
Blackthorn's Stryder RN (19 May 12)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-18-2012, 10:21 AM
Master Member

Don't do what a lot of people do......drag their dogs around for HOURS before they go in the ring. By the time they get into the ring they have no dog left!

When you first get to the show, leave your dog in the car and bring your crate and chair in. You need the crate so you have some place to leave your dog during the walk-thru! Bring a water dish, a favorite toy, and whatever is part of your normal training day. Find a space and set up, then take a walk around to get the lay of the land. Find your ring, and if they're giving out numbers pick yours up.