General competing question - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-11-2012, 02:58 PM Thread Starter

General competing question

I am completely new to the world of dog sports but am wanting to learn and get more involved. We have a 5 month old GSD, Angel, but she is a rescue and we do not know if she is full blood or not (looks it, but no way to tell for sure). Please excuse my ignorance here, but do they have to be full blood and AKC registered in order to do any competing?

We are not sure yet what we would like to do as far as training - would LOVE flyball because she absolutely LOVES her balls, but the closest place doing this is 3 hours away. So we are thinking either obiedience and/or agility. The closest place to possibly train for these is still an hour away, but it might still be a possibility.

What are the first things that I need to know and when is a good time to start training? She has been through her first puppy class (home manners) and will be starting an intermediate class probably the first of May (whenever it starts!)

Thanks for all the help - everyone here is SOOO amazing and soooo helpful!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-11-2012, 03:07 PM
Crowned Member

You can get an ILP / PAL number for her from the AKC and compete in anything except confirmation. Just do a search for it on the akc.org site

post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-11-2012, 03:08 PM
Crowned Member

If you want to do AKC obedience, agility, rally, etc, then you can get a PAL number (probably). If the dog looks like a GSD, then look up the requirements for PAL on the akc.org website and fill out an application with the required documentation.

If you do not think she will pass for purebred, you can go with canine partners and then you can participate in AKC shows that allow mixed breed dogs and earn titles through the AKC.

I am not sure of the requirments for fly ball, who sanctions those trials.