Question about spaying and CKC Obedience - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-15-2010, 05:03 PM Thread Starter
Kay

Question about spaying and CKC Obedience

I'm thinking about getting into obedience with my GSD (she's 6 mths now). When I first got her I didn't really consider competitive obedience, but after going to puppy class and working with her, I have noticed that she loves to work and is very eager to please (especially if food is involved). I too enjoy working with her. Her wait and recall are excellent, and her stay is pretty good too.

I've never done competitive obedience before, but the lady who teaches my puppy class and my breeder both compete so they'll hopefully show me the ropes.

One question I had was regarding spaying and competing. My pooch was sold on a non-breeding contract, and I never want to breed her anyway, so instead of dealing with heat cycles I want to get her spayed. Can she be fixed and still compete? Also, what age should she be spayed at? I've heard conflicting things; some say as soon as she's 6 mths, others say after she's 2 yrs because the hormones control her growth...ect.

Any comments or suggestions are appreciated!

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-15-2010, 05:14 PM
liv

My breeder recommended waiting as long as possible, but that we risked going through a cycle. We wanted to get it done before her first heat, so we pushed it to 10 months. She has still grown a lot since the spay - she's now almost 27" at 17 months but grew nice and slowly. I don't compete at present, but I can't imagine why you wouldn't be able to - someone correct me if I'm wrong.

Liv

Kokoda - GSD - 31.03.09
Onyx - GSD - 05.09.09

The man on top of the mountain didn't fall there --Anonymous
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-15-2010, 05:41 PM

She can be fixed and still compete in the performance venues in AKC. Just not the conformation ring.