October 4th, a very sad day - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-05-2009, 08:37 PM Thread Starter
No Stinkin' Leashes Moderator

October 4th, a very sad day

On October 4th 2004 we lost Cassidy at a few months past her 4th birthday after a lengthy battle with discospondylitis. On October 4th 2008 we lost Dena at 3 weeks past her 4th birthday. She had lymphoma and a whole host of complications.

Cassidy was a mess from the get-go, but she was our mess and we loved her. Structurally not so great, weak nerves, highly leash reactive, but good with other dogs off leash, and she loved people. A HUGE training challenge as a youngster, I have to credit her with everything I know about dog training today. Not that I'm an expert or anything, but at the time I knew almost nothing, since Sneaker was a very easy dog. Cassidy was, um....NOT! I was going to learn to control her or die trying, and took numerous classes with her, read tons of books, and joined this site.

Losing her was so hard. Even when we knew we had lost the battle with her disease it seemed impossible to just let her go, but we had to.

Cassidy 6/8/00 - 10/4/04

After Cassidy we were without a dog for 5 endless weeks. The house was so quiet and empty without her. But we put a deposit down on Dena, our first longcoat, which I had wanted for years, and then waited until she was old enough to come home with us. It was love at first sight. She was simply adorable and as sweet as she could be. And as difficult as Cassidy had been, Dena was easy, such an easy puppy, happy and loving. She was not a destructive chewer like Cassidy, she did not have a reactive bone in her body, she was just perfect. Because I never wanted to lose our only dog again, a year later we got Keefer. She was perfect with him too, simply delighted to have a little brother to play with.